Jump to content



Photo

Hi-MD Music Transfer for Macintosh v. 2.0


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
69 replies to this topic

#1 Christopher

Christopher

    Maharishi

  • Owner
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,585 posts
  • Location:Georgia, USA
  • PlayStation Network ID:kurisumaku

Posted 20 July 2006 - 09:39 PM

Sony has officially released an updated version of the Hi-MD Music Transfer application for Mac OS X. There are some amazing improvements for file transfer that applies to MZ-RH1/RH10/RH910/RH710 owners.+++

Sony offers Hi-MD Music Transfer for Mac Ver.2.0 for owners of the following Hi-MD Walkman models:
  • MZ-RH1/RH10/RH910/RH710

New features of Hi-MD Music Transfer for Mac Ver.2.0:


* Applicable only to the stated Hi-MD Walkman model

MZ-RH1:
  1. User can import audio data recorded in Linear PCM, Hi-SP or Hi-LP mode on the Macintosh-compatible Hi-MD Walkman to a Macintosh computer after converting to WAV format audio data.*1
  2. User can download WAV*2 or MP3 format audio data from a Macintosh computer to a Hi-MD Walkman.*3
  3. User can change a track or group title in a Hi-MD disc, and change the order of tracks or groups.
  4. User can erase the tracks or groups in a Hi-MD disc.
MZ-RH10/MZ-RH910/MZ-RH710:
  1. User can download MP3 format audio data from a Macintosh computer to a Hi-MD Walkman.*3
  2. User can change a track or group title in a Hi-MD disc, and change the order of tracks or groups.
  3. User can erase the tracks or groups in a Hi-MD disc.

*1 - An audio data transferred using SonicStage or MD Simple Burner and an audio data downloaded from this software cannot be imported.
*2 - WAV format audio data is downloaded after converting to Linear PCM.
*3 - If an audio data downloaded from this software is used on SonicStage, some functions such as transfer times or CD burning, etc are limited.

Download (*.dmg): http://forums.minidi...ils.php?file=95
Download (*.zip): http://forums.minidi...ils.php?file=98
Download (Sony): http://www.css.ap.so...=Personal Audio

#2 Roamer

Roamer

    Live recordist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Location:http://www.mdfr.com
  • PlayStation Network ID:Sharp MD-MT190, Sony NH600, NH900, RH1

Posted 21 July 2006 - 03:38 AM

It could be interesting to test it against 1st gen. HiMD not listed in the description (out of curiosity, I don't own a Mac myself)

#3 The Low Volta

The Low Volta

    I should be working...

  • VIP's
  • 2,153 posts
  • Location:http://smit.vub.ac.be/st/stdefault.aspx?ptabindex=1&ptabid=77&tabindex=7&tabid=474
  • PlayStation Network ID:MZ- RH1 & MZ-NH900 (Euro-uncapped) + RM-MC40ELK

Posted 21 July 2006 - 03:56 AM

as the program only transfers MP3 and 1st gen can't play MP3 nor convert it on the fly and only Mac-compatible machines are able to upload to mac, I really doubt that connecting a 1st gen HiMD to mac and opening HiMD music transfer will do anything remarkably interesting tongue.gif but if you really need proof of this, I'll try it as soon as I get near my NH900 (in my desk at work at the moment and I'm working from home right now)

#4 Roamer

Roamer

    Live recordist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Location:http://www.mdfr.com
  • PlayStation Network ID:Sharp MD-MT190, Sony NH600, NH900, RH1

Posted 21 July 2006 - 04:01 AM

Good point, I should have read better.

#5 atikin

atikin

    Novice

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Location:http://
  • PlayStation Network ID:MZ-RH10

Posted 21 July 2006 - 05:43 AM

Wow! They even let RH10 users do something with Mac! I downloaded, installed (first the installer requires to de-install the previous Hi-MD Music Transfer program which was installed "just in case it will work with RH10").

This is what we have:
G4 with MacOS 10.4.7
MZ-RH10

The first impression is disappointing:
No help, no system requirements, not even software version indicated. The software is made with no love.

1st try Hi-MD 1Gb inserted
In good traditions of the software making IT DOESN'T EVEN START. At all. Well actually it does but immediately quits unexpectedly.

2nd try RH10 is not attached at all
Software starts and shows its laconic interface. Looks quite a bit less minimalist as in v.1 though.
When RH10 is attached the program doesn't notice that. I found no way to say to the program that RH10 is attached and have 1G Hi-MD in it. No LUCK. Further efforts to re-open/re-start are not fruitful.

3d try 80min MD inserted
See 1st try.

4th try Blank Hi-MD 1G inserted
Same luck

5th try RH10 attached, no disk is mounted
No luck


Conclusion
Let's wait for version 2.9 which will probably start at least.

#6 raintheory

raintheory

    SoundArtist

  • VIP's
  • 1,915 posts
  • Location:http://www.cosmicsky.com

Posted 21 July 2006 - 07:02 AM

Here is the link to the user manual (thanks suckerpunch):

http://www.tfto.com/music-transfer.pdf


atikin, there is a troubleshooting section in the manual here that may help you get it working. We have it working just fine on our G5 running OSX Tiger.

#7 1kyle

1kyle

    Professional

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Location:http://
  • PlayStation Network ID:Micro Unit CMT MD1, Bookshelf unit CMT CP5 500MD CD/MD shelf unit MXD D4, JB980, Portable units still working R90, N10, NHF800, NH1, RH1 X 2

Posted 21 July 2006 - 08:18 AM

Whilst this is great stuff I'd suggest any MAC user running Parallels could run Windows XP as a VM (Virtual Machine)--then all the SS facilities are available to you.

Note however that Parallels still does Virtualisation of USB at 1.1 so don't expect lightning fast transfer when you are using an RH1.

Parallels on OS X runs Windows XP fine -- no dual booting etc etc.

Bootcamp is another method but you have to dual boot which is a hassle.

OK I know a lot of people won't bother with "Virtualisation" but sometimes it is extremely useful. You can build for example a Windows VM and only have a single APP (say SS) installed keeping the VM really small. You can have a number of these all optimised for specific purposes and you only have to bring up the VM you need.

Once these VM's are booted you can "SUSPEND" and "RESUME" them at will so no boot / reboot sequences needed.

VM's can be "cloned" so no extra "Activations" needed --Windows essentally thinks its running on the same hardware.

Vmware and Parallels both have "Virtual Network" support as well allowing you to share files seamlessly between Windows VM's (Guest OS'es) or whatever OS you are running in your VM and the Host system (OS X / Tiger / panther).

You can also use (on your Windows VM) the sound output so you can use SS to play files from your library / minidisc without problem.

Both Parallels and Vmware "virtualize" the sound hardware based on the omnipresent Sound Blaster type of cards so pretty compatable with almost every known sound card on the planet. -- Doesn't matter what actual physical sound card you have on your MAC -- the VM thinks it's seeing a Sound Blaster card and works fine.

Just one word of warning -- while you can mix and match any sort of hardware and "Real" machines on your network only Parallels will allow a Virtual Machine to run on OS X. The resulting virtual machine (if it's windows) however will be seen as a "bog standard" windows machine on the rest of the network --this will also allow data from the VM to be shared / accessed across your network.
This makes manipulating and sharing Music Libraries a lot easier.

The only major multi-media problem currently on VM's (running on VMWARE or PARALLELS) is that video streaming isn't yet implemented so if you want to play DVD's then you'll have to do this from the HOST machine and not the VM.

I use this method a lot when I have to run Windows Apps that MAC doesn't have the equivalent of.


Cheers

-K

Edited by 1kyle, 21 July 2006 - 08:34 AM.


#8 dunebug81

dunebug81

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:http://www.enemyzero.com/greg/

Posted 21 July 2006 - 12:01 PM

So if I read this right I can record a show with my RH1 in any setting a choose and upload it to a mac for editing and burning? If I did then I might need to pick up a mac mini.

#9 The Low Volta

The Low Volta

    I should be working...

  • VIP's
  • 2,153 posts
  • Location:http://smit.vub.ac.be/st/stdefault.aspx?ptabindex=1&ptabid=77&tabindex=7&tabid=474
  • PlayStation Network ID:MZ- RH1 & MZ-NH900 (Euro-uncapped) + RM-MC40ELK

Posted 21 July 2006 - 12:20 PM

any HiMD setting yes, not legacy modes (these are only uploadable to PC)

#10 clarkeda

clarkeda

    Novice

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Location:http://
  • PlayStation Network ID:MZ-NH1

Posted 21 July 2006 - 12:37 PM

Just for kicks I tried this with my 1G MZ-NH1. It displays the tracks and folders, reporting the free space correctly. Oddly enough the "delete" function works. When I click the "import" function nothing happens. This is as advertized of course, but frustrating none the less. I'm very close to mothballing the MZ-NH1 and getting an iriver H10 20GB instead. Shame on you Sony for not considering us 1st Gen Hi-MD owners. Sniff.

#11 The Low Volta

The Low Volta

    I should be working...

  • VIP's
  • 2,153 posts
  • Location:http://smit.vub.ac.be/st/stdefault.aspx?ptabindex=1&ptabid=77&tabindex=7&tabid=474
  • PlayStation Network ID:MZ- RH1 & MZ-NH900 (Euro-uncapped) + RM-MC40ELK

Posted 21 July 2006 - 01:00 PM

uhm... 2nd gen (the non mac-compatible machines so everything except the MZ-M10 and M100) doesn't have uploading to mac either and they can only download as they can play MP3s without conversion

as said before (and we will probably say lots of times before everyone realizes it):
- only the mac-compatible machines were marketed by sony as mac-compatible (specifically in regards to uploading) -> support for other machines should be seen as an unsuspected bonus if it should ever pop up but the lack of it should definittely not be criticised! you should have known your machine didn't work with mac (it said it didn't in tthe manual and in other places and each shopkeeper should have been able to tell you this!), Sony never promised it, get over it tongue.gif

- only the RH1 was marketed as being able to download from mac. now even the 2nd gen machines have been attended to -> again a bonus

- Sony has yet been unsuccesful in porting atrac to mac, so 1st gen as atrac only machines will remain unserved by the mac -> HiMD MP3-transfer software. This isn't evil, this is rather logic...

IMHO if something isn't present when it is advertized as not being present, it is not frustrating! just imagine, I personally would have been frustrated if the 1st gen was mac-compatible all of a sudden, as I have invested another €300 in an RH1 cause I valued mac-compatibility... but I had (and still have) an NH900... if that could do all the RH1 could (without being advertised) I probably wouldn't have invested €300 in a new machine laugh.gif

PS: if you were lied to by a shopkeeper claiming mac-compatibility at the time, it is another story, but then you should blame/sue/molest tongue.gif (I don't really care) the shopkeeper and not blame sony publicly on forums

PPS: my bottom-line (finally biggrin.gif ) Sony has done quite enough evil/dumb/... things, so if you want to nag and blame sony, just pick one of those real issues, but do not blame them for the one thing they didn't do! Live with it, they added mac support because we all asked for it over and over again, they didn't withheld it from the first gens just to bug you!

Edited by The Low Volta, 21 July 2006 - 01:06 PM.


#12 clarkeda

clarkeda

    Novice

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Location:http://
  • PlayStation Network ID:MZ-NH1

Posted 21 July 2006 - 01:54 PM


I'm not really cross with Sony of course, but it's a pity that they couldn't have shipped function on OS X that was similar to that on Win32 with Sonicstage. In a declining and/or niche market I think I'd be shipping anything that would keep users using the hardware.

#13 sallymae_hogsby

sallymae_hogsby

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 58 posts

Posted 21 July 2006 - 04:11 PM

This is from the "Hi-MD Music Transfer for Mac Ver. 2.0" manual. One of the notes at the end of page 3:

The following tracks cannot be imported.
-- Tracks that have been downloaded from a Macintosh computer to a Hi-MD Walkman using Hi-MD Music Transfer.

And this from the notes at the end of the first column on page 4:

Audio data downloaded from a Macintosh computer to a Hi-MD Walkman using Hi-MD Music Transfer cannot be re-imported to the same Macintosh computer. For this reason you should make double check (sic) the contents of the original files before deleting them on the computer.

Could someone see if this can be "gotten around" by changing the track name slightly?

Thanks!

#14 dunebug81

dunebug81

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:http://www.enemyzero.com/greg/

Posted 21 July 2006 - 04:15 PM

QUOTE(sallymae_hogsby @ Jul 21 2006, 05:16 PM) View Post

This is from the "Hi-MD Music Transfer for Mac Ver. 2.0" manual. One of the notes at the end of page 3:

The following tracks cannot be imported.
-- Tracks that have been downloaded from a Macintosh computer to a Hi-MD Walkman using Hi-MD Music Transfer.

And this from the notes at the end of the first column on page 4:

Audio data downloaded from a Macintosh computer to a Hi-MD Walkman using Hi-MD Music Transfer cannot be re-imported to the same Macintosh computer. For this reason you should make double check (sic) the contents of the original files before deleting them on the computer.

Could someone see if this can be "gotten around" by changing the track name slightly?

Thanks!


I doubt that it could because that info is included with the meta data in the mp3.

-Greg


#15 Shakuhachi

Shakuhachi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 23 July 2006 - 06:56 AM

Hi Kurisu,

I have not been in touch much with anyone using the NEW Sony MZ-RH1, and uploading old MD live recordings onto a Mac. I have some questions in that regards, perhaps you might be able to answer.

I want to know if there is an English Software for uploading to a Mac, available now on the internet, and where? (Although I live in Japan, I do not read Japanese Kanji)

If I buy my unit from here, can I still download the software in English and use it with the unit I buy from here?

How has the users' response been to this unit? Is it really doing what it is meant to do, and that is to allow musicians to transfer their live recordings onto a PC/Mac, for archiving, or editing purposes?

What has been the overall response to this unit?

Thanks.

Shakuhachi.

#16 The Low Volta

The Low Volta

    I should be working...

  • VIP's
  • 2,153 posts
  • Location:http://smit.vub.ac.be/st/stdefault.aspx?ptabindex=1&ptabid=77&tabindex=7&tabid=474
  • PlayStation Network ID:MZ- RH1 & MZ-NH900 (Euro-uncapped) + RM-MC40ELK

Posted 23 July 2006 - 07:36 AM


hi shakuhachi, I'm not kurisu, but he hasn't got an RH1 yet IIRC so I'll answer some of that for you...

- old MDs (legacy MDs or non-HiMDs) will only upload to PC (and only through SonicStage), not to mac (only HiLP, HiSP and PCM recorded with a mac-compatible recorder like the RH1 can be uploaded to mac)

- the English software for mac is available in this very thread you are posting in (or a link to it at least)

- where's 'here'? Japan? then you will have to set the menus to English with the help of one of our Japanese speaking friends, but software wise it's no problem at all

- the overall response to the RH1 has been great IMHO, but only f you realize its strong and weaker points: it is a recorder, not a dedicated player; it does NOT upload old recordings to mac... not at all, excapt for the old realtime analog way

#17 Andicillo

Andicillo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Location:http://
  • PlayStation Network ID:MZ R 30 - MNZF800

Posted 23 July 2006 - 09:07 PM

Can anyone of you guys post a screenshot of the software.. for those of us who don't have a mac?

#18 The Low Volta

The Low Volta

    I should be working...

  • VIP's
  • 2,153 posts
  • Location:http://smit.vub.ac.be/st/stdefault.aspx?ptabindex=1&ptabid=77&tabindex=7&tabid=474
  • PlayStation Network ID:MZ- RH1 & MZ-NH900 (Euro-uncapped) + RM-MC40ELK

Posted 24 July 2006 - 07:01 AM

QUOTE(Andicillo @ Jul 24 2006, 04:12 AM) View Post

Can anyone of you guys post a screenshot of the software.. for those of us who don't have a mac?


IPB Image

there you go... nothing fancy, just a small screen that shows the folders and files, you simply drag the MP3s into the screen and they are downloaded to the RH1

#19 meika

meika

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • PlayStation Network ID:none

Posted 24 July 2006 - 05:37 PM

Has anyone tried accessing the MD through the command line in the terminal and looking at directory with the -a option, show invisible files, ie > ls -a

As I do not have a MD of any description I ould be particularly interested to see if the non Mac supported MDs, which can be used as USB fat volumes, can have their directory structures look at via the command line in the Terminal.app, if so one might be able to copy mp3 via the command line

open the Terminal and type at the prompt (the '>')

cd ../../Volumes

then

cd name-of-the-MD-volumeordrive

then type ls -a

IS there a hidden directory (starting with a ' . ' ) where the audio like MP3s go?

Or is the data volume completely seperate from the audio, like a blood brain barrier?

#20 The Low Volta

The Low Volta

    I should be working...

  • VIP's
  • 2,153 posts
  • Location:http://smit.vub.ac.be/st/stdefault.aspx?ptabindex=1&ptabid=77&tabindex=7&tabid=474
  • PlayStation Network ID:MZ- RH1 & MZ-NH900 (Euro-uncapped) + RM-MC40ELK

Posted 25 July 2006 - 04:02 AM

to be playable, music gets 'inscribed' into a special file called 'HIMD' (or something) on the disc... there are no separate MP3 files, nor atrac files. If you combine atrac and MP3 files (as I did with the disc shown in my screenshot: the first album = A3+, the rest MP3) there still is only one file containing the music.

you can drag and drop MP3s, but only in two ways:

- as playable music: D-N-D into the HiMD music transfer window, but this is not real D-N-D, it is just easy interface but the MP3s are nonetheless inscribed in the one 'music file' on the disc and do not appear as MP3s anymore (not even as hidden files)

- as data: simple D-N-D into the disc icon. This is real D-N-D and the MP3s are visible as unaltered separate files, but cannot be played on the machine!

I know little of Terminal and I didn't check this, but I did check this on PC when trying to reimport the MP3s I downloaded from mac, and even with 'hidden files' visible, there are no MP3s, only the music file

at this moment, the disc format itself doesn't allow D-N-D of playable music so unless the playback system of the recorders is completely altered it won't happen... and this means it definitely will never happen for any older MD IMHO... never!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users