what are the best decks in the 7xx and 9xx series?

Rate this topic

mv45

Hi all,

I am pretty new to Minidiscs, but have acquired recently a JE530 deck and can use a Sharp MD MT15 for field recording.

I'd like to upgrade to a better deck (without breaking the bank) and am considering either a 7xx or 9xx series. Have been reading manuals for quite some time now, but I would also like to understand how you experts rate these decks technically: are the higher numbers always better (within ether the 7xx or 9xx series)? From some of the posts here I recall that for instance in the JA series the build quality was not also improved over time.

Any advice is highly appreciated!

Mark

My favourite is definitely the JB-920QS. Better built than the ES decks in the same family. (I know it is difficult to believe, but this is what I have experienced). My ES decks, JA-333ES and JA-20ES, have proven more fragile than the QS one. Got my JB-920 for $75: unbeatable return on investment. Try it.

My favourite is definitely the JB-920QS. Better built than the ES decks in the same family. (I know it is difficult to believe, but this is what I have experienced). My ES decks, JA-333ES and JA-20ES, have proven more fragile than the QS one. Got my JB-920 for $75: unbeatable return on investment. Try it.

Hi PhillippeB,

Does that mean you also rate the 920 above the later 9xx models? The manuals tell me about new functions and looks, but not about build quality and sound.

In addition, on the minidisc.org page for the 920 it seems a serious issue is reported for (at least early versions of) this deck. Has this been resolved for later copies of the 920, and what should I be looking for to avoid buying a 920 with this problem (maybe serialnumber)?

Tnx,

Mark

Let me elaborate.

About the new functions: firstly, the legacy codec ATRAC 4.5 (SP or MONO) is all I need. The newer decks add LP2 and LP4, but at a cost:

1. the editing accuray degrades from 1/86 sec to 2/86 sec