mp3 conversion in SonicStage is terrible

Rate this topic

toxaco

Hello to everyone here,

first off i am a total newb to minidisc, i've just got myself a NH600 cos i wanted a portable recording device and was fed up with ipods!

Anyway down to business:-

i have had no problems using SonicStage ultimate on my Macbook using XP with bootcamp,

BUT!

I noticed straight away that mp3s i transferred to the NH600 were noticeably worse quality than the original mp3 on the computer.

I found that converting them to WAVs first and then converting them to ATRAC gives much, MUCH better results.

This also seems true vice versa, ie converting ATRACs uploaded from the NH600 to WAV and then using 3rd party software (dboweramp) to convert to mp3

I don't know if this is common knowledge, I just wanted to share my findings with the community, and introduce myself

It seems that Sony's mp3 conversion in SonicStage just doesn't cut it.

regards, toxaco (Cosmo)

I am very happy to be a minidisc user in 2012, I never want to hear an ipod ever again!!!

and where else can you get a PCM recorder for £30

Agreed.

I think the *reason* Sonic Stage isn't good with MP3 (aside from commercial/conspiratorial considerations where some aggrieved party suggests this was on purpose) is that the software and design date to before the time when MP3 was enhanced by various means (DFXEnhancer and Foobar2000 to name a couple).

Sony's ATRAC-to-MP3 conversion program is quite decent. But I am left with the feeling that the music I had just took a one-way trip, to which yours is the only solution. I record stuff to MD that is either AAC or MP3 when broadcasted. As you say, letting ATRAC compression do its thing on the decompressed (WAV) sound from such sources works quite well. The MP3 enhancers, also, lessen the quality gap between MP3 and MD.