Sony Mz-N710 NOT VERY LOUD volume at all!!! Is it defective?

Rate this topic

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

Hi there,

I bought my mz-n710 from AV-Land the other day and when I started playing with it I noticed it was very quiet. Even if I turned the volume up to the full, it was very quiet compared to my portable shitty CD-Player. sad.gif It was so quiet, I could hear cars going by at the loudest passages while with my CD-player, I can't... and if I turn the volume up all the way, it distorts a bit. It has a 1.2mW headphone output amplifier. Is that too little????? Should I get a unit with a 5mW amplifier? Or do u think the unit was defective? Please, help me.

By the way, I tried different headphones... with the same result. sad.gifsad.gifsad.gif

The guys at AV-Land were very nice and let me send it back. But if I get a different unit with a 5mW amplifier, will it be louder???? sad.gif I really liked the unit and I am very sad it was so quiet.

Roy from London smile.gif

Guest Anonymous

it is 32 ohms as far as I remember. Although, it is not stated on avland.co.uk, at other units, it is given with regard to 32 ohms. smile.gif

Jroy from London

what does the manual say? Can you check?

in any case it's pretty low.

Guest Anonymous

ok, 1.2 mW into 32 ohms for sure... Do u think it makes a difference if I buy a unit with 5mW into 32 ohms or even 16 ohms? sad.gif Are u guys happy with the volume levels of sony MDs?

Jroy from London smile.gif

Guest Anonymous

ok, 1.2 mW into 32 ohms for sure... Do u think it makes a difference if I buy a unit with 5mW into 32 ohms or even 16 ohms? sad.gif Are u guys happy with the volume levels of sony MDs?

I have three Sony portables, all of them have 5mW/16ohms and I don't have any reasons to complain.

Guest Anonymous

if it's 1.2mW/32 ohms then it is extremely low, for example, Sharp's DR-7 has 8mW/32 ohms

Guest Anonymous

Thank you for the answers, guys. smile.gif Very nice of you.