Should I Continue With Mds?

Rate this topic

daveb

I have been using mini discs in various formats for nearly 6 years now and I am getting fed up with them.

In the past I have had an

MZ-R55 and an MZ-R501 both of these I really liked but unfortenatly I managed to break them.

After this my troubles started. I had two different MZ-N710 units both of which kept stopping and going back to the start of the disk, so I assumed this was a fault of the model.

I then bought a MZ-NH700. Which was fine for a few months but then was unable to record onto the last third of a hi-md disk, which it could do before. Now it is unable to record on hi-md disk at all and the older disk seem to have occasional gaps of silence when playing back.

So have I just been unlucky with my last 3 units or has the built quality got worse as more functionality is crammed in? Should I get a new mini-disc recorder and if so which model or should i just invest in a different format?

I would like to stick with mds as I have hundreds of disks but I would like something that lasts more than a few months.

As my current NH700 isnt a year old I can return it to amazon (uk) and get a replacement. I dont think they have any more NH700s so it will be a different model. Are the second gen Hi-Md any better and are they available in the uk?

Would I be better with a metal case md like my original r55?

Anybody else feeling disillusioned or is it just me?

Thanks for reading all this and thanks for any suggestions?

David

I certainly haven't had your bad luck with my MZ-N710 which has worked perfectly (and someone at my office has dropped hers a couple of times with no ill effects!).

I've just ordered a new Hi-MD MZ-NH1 from amazon, and I'm wondering if I've made the right decision? Is it worth trading up? Will the NH1 really offer me more than my trusty N710?

And then, should I have gone for a Creative Zen Micro??

Any thoughts, anyone?

Andrew