need FAST turnaround on recording results

Rate this topic

Hello!

Just got great help on another portion of the forum (thanks!!), and now I have another question that requires your seasoned expertise and creative problem solving. The proper solution will probably involve some non-MD technology, somewhere in the mix.

I'm a voice teacher, among other things, and I've been recording the lessons for my students on a cassette tape recorder for years. I know --how "twentieth century" of me.... They need to take these tapes home to get started right away on practicing, especially when they're fresh from the lesson.

The reason I'm still doing it that way, is that I can push a button at the beginning of the hour and just hand them the recording as soon as that hour is done. Done. Finis. End of story. They only pay me for the music lesson, and will not sit around for additional dubbing time. Usually there's another student waiting as soon as that one is done. I need immediate turnaround and cassettes give me that.

At least they used to. I just got a call from a student who let me know that my cassette recorder gave her yet another bad recording, and this time I'd put in fresh batteries. So apparently it's dying and I'm not buying another cassette recorder. I need a new way to do this. I know that there are CD recorders out there, but as I understand they are about $250 and I just do not have the dineros. If they all had digital voice recorders then we'd be fine, but only a couple of them do. Of course I've got my RH1, but ...sigh...they don't have MD players. I can't just send them to their local Best Buy to pick up blank MD media. Wouldn't that be sweet?