Which sound card for upload?

Rate this topic

I'm a total newbie to uploading, and think I've finally figured out what I need to upload my old MDs to my PC, but am stuck on the sound card selection.

I have an ancient Sharp MD-MS722 that I recorded a lot of mixes on (analog input) and want to create WAVs + mp3s from them. I want to upload digitally to maintain sound quality.

I've figured out that I need a deck with an optical out -- old Sonys seem to be available on ebay for under $100. And I know I need a sound card with optical input. I've found some old references on the forums to these cards:

Chaintech AV-710

Terratec Aureon 5.1 (pci + usb)

Turtle Beach Montego DDL 7.1

Is there an inexpensive card that'll do a good job of this?

I don't really need the surround sound, etc., but I am picky about keeping the incoming sound as high quality as possible. And I'd prefer a usb card if that's feasible, so I can use my laptop.

Also:

1. Do I need anything else besides my normal recording software that I use for analog input?

I've used Feurio in the past but it seems like people are using other things these days.

2. This will sound stupid, but what cable do I need -- toslink, mini-toslink?

The only optical plug I have laid eyes on is the one on my MS722, which looks like a mini-toslink(??), so excuse the ignorance!

Thanks for any suggestions!

Very quickly:

- Sony w/opti out, yes.

- Terratec PCI, yes, not expensive (Turtle beach, no way I sent the Montego back). Don't have experience of the USB version. However you are going to need USB (and all of the bandwidth) for SonicStage at some point, using a dongle-type optical input may turn out to be annoying in the end. The only problem you have is that Terratec is hard to find here in N.Am.