2 simple questions.............

Rate this topic

a320sherif

hy every one, I am new to new hi-md stuff,

1-in my pc hard disk i have 30 gig of mp3's that i took from everywhere, older hdd, friends,.... converted cd etc etc,

some mp3 's are 192kbs and some are 128kbs,

I would like to know what is the best compromise between quality and size with the hi-md disc ? I really like mp3's at 192 kbs which is equal to what atrac 3 plus compression?

2- I will probabily buy the SONY MZ-NHF800 Hi-MD , can someone tell me how its remote will work , i mean it will have at least a pushbutton to select the albums in my midisc compilation? because one line will be

thanks sherif...

1.) You would want to use 256kbps ATRAC3plus, aka Hi-SP.

Check this out: http://www.sony.net/Products/Hi-MD/capacity.html#3

2.) The remote works like any other Minidisc remote. It features buttons which can pretty much do whatever the buttons can do on the unit itself. Record, edit, group, track, sound/volume, radio [in this case, since you'd be purchasing the NHF800], and a few other things. I will admit it seems like it may be a bit cumbersome cycling through tracks in such a manner - and that's where the benefit of having up to 20 groups and 2,000+ bookmarks comes into play.

since mp3 uses a different kind of compression, i use the LP2. I too use 192kbps for mp3's, and i find the LP2 does it justice very well. When i get the Hi-MD, i will be using the LP2 because:

a) i've always been using LP2 for my 192's

cool.gif 16 hours!!! on a hi-md

c) its proven that Atrac3(plus) has a higher quality (by far) compared to mp3 at the same bitrate.

my two cents. smile.gif

edit: the remote has the radio completely built in.

Kurisu: nice touch with the amount of words! tells users how useful the user in question actually is (well, unless he/she has been typing words like a,s,d,g,r,s,,q,s,c c c d d w df , like i just did tongue.gif)

thank you for your answers guys, sorry i have more questions....