A CD Walkman intruder in MD world (1.5mW vs 5mW)

Rate this topic

Hello all,

Recently I bought a Sony D-NE800 CD/MP3/Atrac3Plus Walkman. I know, I know it isn't related to MD, but still may be interesting...

The player performs OK, but (as you probably already know) it has a crippled low-power output on the headphone line. It is now ! 1.5 mW + 1.5 mW ! :sad: for Europe, whereas everyone else enjoys a normal 5 mW + 5 mW output.

I studied the topic and taking in consideration that probably Sony doesn't use completely different technology in MD and CD players, decided to take my device apart and see what I can do.

Of course it is quite painful to lose your warranty right after you bought it, but if you do it carefully nobody will ever even notice rolleyes.gif

So, I discovered that indeed, the D-NE800 output is a Headphone Amp (17020B - of which I found nothing in the Inet) used priorly by Sony in the MZ-N10. I saw earlier complains about Sony's European crippling strategy and decided to hack the unit to a normal one.

As I understood from previous posts, the hack is based upon the short-circuiting a pair of resistors which are 'killing' the power. There would be no problem for me to find them on a MZ-N10 device (with the service manual at hand), but having absolutely no info about D-NE800 makes it a little bit of a problem...

So, if anyone knows anything about the HP Amp chip (probably AN17020B or AN17020A) or has any technical info on the D-NE800 (a service manual would be very nice), I would be glad to hear from you.

• 2 weeks later...

I finally decided to take my Walkman apart. An guess what I found? The HP amp is a AN17020B - which is a totally unknown type and even has a different package (16-SOP) type than AN17020A-VB (16-Quad)...