MD to PC with Sony

Rate this topic

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

I, like many people (so it seems), am a little upset with Sony's choice not to allow digital copies from MD to PC. I've hunted for software to do this, but have found nothing more than suggestions that I keep waiting and hoping.

My initial thought is to trap the signals sent to the MD to figure out how data is written, read, deleted; then write code to detect the MD and pull the files off.

Well, that sounds easy enough, I know. And I know there are a lot of people more talented at programming than I am that could do a better job. And I'm also fairly confident that if it were possible, somebody would have already done it.

So my question is this: What is it, technically speaking, that prohibits somebody from writing drivers that will allow digital copy from MD to PC via the USB cable?

Any details you guys/gals can throw at me would be appreciated.

--Ron

I don't have a NetMD yet, but I am a professional programmer. So, from this point of view, I would say that it *might* be possible, but not necessarily. The problem is that the only stuff which is being sent from MD->PC is stuff like track information (titles, lengths etc). I would guess that the whole TOC is sent from MD->PC. In this case, it would be quite difficult to get the audio data as the computer doesn't request stuff, just the MD sends what it knows that OpenMG wants (which isn't what we want).

If we can tell it that the TOC is at a different spot on the disc, then there is hope. We would be able to tell it that the TOC is where audio data actually is, and it would just send it across. Once this happens, it is just a matter of interpretting the data. Unfortunately, I don't know that it is possible to request to the MD that it sends certain information - the MD might just send what it knows to be the TOC and that is all.