real basic quesion

Rate this topic

soul&folk

I'm very new to the world of MD recording. I work for a youth group that just starting an hour a week radio broadcast and the studio gives us a minidisc of the show. We bought a MDS-JE500 and I already had an Edirol UA25 interface. So with an optical cable I was able to transfer the show from the minidisc into Audacity, recording in realtime. We've tried it and everything's dandy. Yes!

Here's my question... I'd like to buy myself the least expensive Minidisc recorder for personal use (I'm a musician/songwriter) and then bring the disc to work and transfer it as I've seen I can do. I usually get musical "thoughts" entering my head as I'm driving, or just sitting around the house. I'd love to capture them quickly and later transfer them to the computer. (If I had more money I'd just get myself a Zoom H4 and skip the digital transfer via the MDS-JE500)

Can you recommend the right MD recorder?

Am I right in assuming that this will work with all minidisc recorders?

Oh, one more thing - I'm in the USA- if I read correctly there are more restrictions on MD models in the USA than in Europe because of the music industry's fear of copyright infringement

Edited by soul&folk

We bought a MDS-JE500

Here's my question... I'd like to buy myself the least expensive Minidisc recorder for personal use

Am I right in assuming that this will work with all minidisc recorders?

Oh, one more thing - I'm in the USA- if I read correctly there are more restrictions on MD models in the USA than in Europe

Welcome to the incredibly confusing world of minidisc. Since being invented, minidisc has gone through lots of changes. New models are mostly backwards compatible. Old models are not forwards compatible.

The MD recorder I recommend to you is the MZ-NH700, which records in full PCM (.wav) fidelity if you want AND uploads the recordings to your computer.

It's $180 here,

http://www.minidiscaccess.com/item.html?PRID=1553219