Is there a final solution to uploading old MD recordings?

Rate this topic

cpueppke

Hello,

I am new to the site, and through it I just discovered that Sony has corrected it's horrible software problem with the new Hi-MD. I am a pianist and I use my N707 to record my music using Sony's instrumental mic. I understand that with the Hi-MD it is possible to make a CD out of the files recorded by uploading and converting to .wav format. Unfortunately, I noticed in the FAQ that you cannot upload files recorded by non-Hi-MD systems. My problem is that I have at least 10 minidiscs full of music (recorded by my NetMD). Is there any way to upload and convert these files, in light of the new Hi-MD system? (I don't understand why, since a computer recognizes a Hi-MD player as a USB mass storage device, you cannot copy files from an old MD.)

In all, I'm very confused and frustrated. If all else fails, I have a relative working at 3M who says they can convert MD to CD in their lab. Then, I suppose I could buy a new Hi-MD recorder (although I would have trouble giving MORE money to Sony after all of this).

Thanks a million!

The short answer is, only Hi-MD recordings can be transferred via SonicStage, so you're pretty much stuck with real-time analog re-recording via the computer's sound card line-in--unless you have access to a digital-output deck and a computer with SPDIF input, in which case you can go digital. Either process means some format conversion on the way to a WAV file that can be burned to a CD. I don't know what equipment the 3M guys have, but there's no avoiding some sort of transation from ATRAC to WAV.

In any case, despite the clunkiness and slowness of the process, the results should be more than decent--I've transferred many hours of regular MD recordings and found no fault with them that didn't originate with the mikes, the recording environment, or my playing. (The other musicians involved only faced the first two of those issues.)