Rate this topic

Hi Folks.

I am a complete newbie to this forum. And would like

some information if at all possible. I would like to know

if it is possible to record from my minidisc to a pc

digitally. Its just that after reading your FAQ for beginners

FAQ NO6 says direct transfers cant be done. But FAQ NO

13 says that with the right digital cable you can record to

your pc. Am I getting transfer and recording mixed up?

I don't mind at all if I have to do it in real time, it would be

really good to be able to do it digitally.

any help would be appreciated.

regards Chris.

It all depends on what unit you have.

MD portables (except for the very early ones) don't have a line-out or an optical out--just a headphone jack. Those require realtime analog (headphone out to PC line-in) recording.

Some MD decks do have optical out, and with those you can record digitally to a PC, assuming you have a soundcard with optical in.

Hi-MD units--MZ-NH* or MZ-RH*--can upload digitally to PCs. MZ-M10 or MZ-M100 can upload digitally to a Mac (and I think to a PC too). MZ-RH1 uploads to Mac and PC. I'm assuming you don't have a Hi-MD.

If you have the $330 to spend, you can get the MZ-RH1, the only unit that uploads recordings made in SP, LP2 or LP4, the old minidisc formats.

There is software available that allows you to bypass the soundcard D/A converter and get as close to a digital recording as possible from your old MD. It's called Total Recorder and there are discussions about it on this board.

There are also hacks that alter certain older MD recorders so that they can be switched into line out mode instead of headphone mode. It's a tricky thing to do but you may consider it to be worth the risk. I used it on my NetMD recorder and I didn't have any problems. One of these hacks is detailed in this thread.

I don't think Total Recorder will be much use to someone with an old MD.