MDS-JE530 does not record, OWH is tested and OK

Rate this topic

NGY

Greetings to everyone - I am a newbie here, though not new to Minidisc. I entered the MD world in about '96-97, when I bought my MZ-R3 in a Duty-Free shop at London Heathrow, while waiting for connection. It was an amazing piece of kit that time, and I must say, the MD technology is still a fantastic engineering achievement in my eyes.

I have been reading the forums since about two months now, mostly seeking for repair tips - having a couple units I bought recently second hand (mostly fairly cheap), with the intention of bringing them back to life and preserve. And, already a big "thank you" for the forum - I already managed to fix my MDS-JE510 unit, that did not accept discs, ejecting all with C13 error. Following Jim Hoggarth's instructions, I turned it back to fully functional, and it still holds since then.

Now, I am in a project of repairing the unit in the subject. I tried a couple of things but still not yet there. This 530 arrived with a broken OWH (Overwrite head), that had clear signs of previous failed repair attempts, thus the machine was play only, but otherwise working OK. As a first step, I took a 100% OK OWH from a fully functional 520 unit, built it into the 530, but then the 530 still did not record, i.e., when ejecting after a record session, the disc remained blank. Testing the same OWH back in the 520: all OK. (BTW, I finally fixed that broken OWH from the 530, tried also in the 520, and the 520 just can record properly with this repaired one.) Error history in Error Display Mode shows E04 and E09 alternating ("Address cannot be read" and "Playback retry error" respectively).